In May 2009, the Government of Nepal launched the comprehensive Nepal Risk Reduction Consortium (NRRC), with the IFRC coordinating Flagship 4: Integrated Community Based Disaster Risk Reduction. Flagship 4 seeks to capitalize on the community based disaster risk reduction (CBDRR) activities and experience which has already accumulated to create a more consistent, systematic and harmonized approach to CBDRR which will be conducted at VDC level. Through a consultation process, a set of minimum characteristics for disaster-resilient communities has been developed and these characteristics will form the base of common elements to be included in all CBDRR projects. Flagship 4 will help ensure that communities receive consistent CBDRR support and will enable more effective tracking of progress in VDCs across the country.

Overall purpose

A number of different facilitators, who are also Flagship 4 members, will conduct 10 district level consultations to increase engagement of community based organizations with Flagship 4 and other CBDRR initiatives.


  • To increase interest and awareness about NRRC and Flagship 4
  • To increase the number of local partners involved in Flagship 4
  • To promote the Flagship 4 Information Platform
  • Collect information on CBDRR projects for project database


Delivering organizations engage local participants involved in CBDRR to attend the consultation.  At a minimum these participants will include local representatives from:

  • Ministry of Local Development
  • Ministry of Home Affairs
  • INGOs
  • NGOs: local delivering partners
  • VDCs: representatives involved in CBDRR projects
  • DDRCs: representatives involved in CBDRR projects
  • Community Based Organizations (CBOs)
  • Local media (including radio and newspaper)

District Locations

Consultation workshops have been held in 19 districts:

Kanchanpur - Mahendranagar
Kailali - Dhangadhi
Bardiya - Gularia
Banke - Nepalgunj
Kaski – Pokhara
Nawalparasi - Parsi
Makwanpur - Hetaunda
Morang - Biratnagar
Ilam – Ilam
Taplejung – Taplejung
Jhapa - BIrtamode
Sindhupalchowk - Choutara
Syangja - Syangja
Dadeldhura - Dadeldhura
Lamjung - Besisahar
Saptari - Rajbiraj
Dhanusa - Japakpur
Mahottari - Jaleshwor
Rukum - Musikot Khalanga